Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.internal_encoding is deprecated in /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 27

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.input_encoding is deprecated in /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 28

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.output_encoding is deprecated in /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 29

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php:27) in /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/session/session.php on line 658

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php:27) in /home/hmorrison/public_html/libraries/joomla/session/session.php on line 658
H. Morrison - How To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification
How To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

How To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

Why Ought to I Get A Linux Certification?

Effectively, the first question you might need is why do you have to get a Linux certification? The answer to this is much like getting certifications in general. It helps to show your data in the Linux operating system, by testing and passing a minimal standard of knowledge.

It may well also enable you to get a job within the industry. Many roles require or favor a certification in Linux, resembling Linux administrators or basic server administrators. It will probably additionally add to your present Linux information, which you would apply to your present job.

Which Linux Certification Should I Get?

This might be a whole publish by itself - however I'll embody all the information right here in a single handy place.

There are 4 important suppliers of Linux certifications, they usually all offer a range of various certifications for different levels.


They provide a range of certifications, with labels of Engineer, Skilled and Desktop Administrator.

Certified Linux Engineer eleven (CLE11) - offers engineer-stage skills for managers and designers on giant programs primarily based on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11. It is advisable to have passed the Licensed Linux Skilled eleven examination to be eligible for this.

Licensed Linux Administrator 11 (CLA eleven) - a new certification, focusing on each day operation of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server networks.

Licensed Linux Desktop Administrator (CLDA) - centered on these with Windows desktop expertise and want to study SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop.

Licensed Linux Skilled 11 (CLP eleven) - offers skills essential to administrate SUSE Linux Enterprise Server.

ComptTIA solely provide a single Linux certification, the Linux+.

Linux+ - an entry-degree certification for those looking to get into the Linux field. Vendor neutral.
Linux Skilled Institute

The Linux Professional Institute, otherwise often called LPI, supply a number of Linux certifications.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Degree 1 (LPIC-1) - a junior degree Linux certification that tests primary skills in major Linux distributions.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Level 2 (LPIC-2) - an advanced stage Linux certification that includes expertise in administration. Passing the LPIC-1 is required for this.

Linux Skilled Institute Certification Degree 3 (LPIC-3) - a senior-stage Linux certification for major Linux distributions that gives several specialties. Passing the LPIC-2 is required for this.
Red Hat

Red Hat provide just a few certifications for his or her distribution of Linux.

Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) - a decrease-stage Linux certification that covers the basics of administration.

Red Hat Licensed Engineer (RHCE) - more advanced Linux certification, aimed at experienced Linux professionals. Passing the RHCSA is a requirement for this certification.

Red hat courses Hat Licensed Virtualization Administrator (RHCVA) - centered on deploying virtual hosts in the Linux atmosphere

Red Hat Certified Safety Specialist (RHCSS) - centered on security features and areas of Linux

Red Hat Certified Datacentre Specialist (RHCDS) - centered on the requirements for administrating and supporting datacentre environments

Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) - the highest level of Red Hat certification, this focuses on professional matters of Linux administration and usage.
So, the answer to which Linux certification do you have to get?

It depends on your experience and requirements. There are a number of junior Linux certifications (Linux+, RHCSA, LPIC, CLE11) that could possibly be useful when you're trying to start out.

More advanced certifications such as the RHCE, LPIC-2, CLA11 and CLP11 could be useful if in case you have more experience. In the event you're a senior professional in the Linux space, I'd look into the RHCA or the LPIC-3.

Nevertheless, this article is concentrated on the Red Hat certifications, so we will take a look at find out how to get a Red Hat Linux certification on this article.